MFA Blog

SEC Nominees Could be Approved Before August Recess

Posted on July 22, 2013

Late last week, the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs approved, by voice vote, an additional five-year term for Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Chairman Mary Jo White.  The term lasts until June 5, 2019.  Earlier this year, the Senate confirmed Mary Jo White to be the 31st Chairman of the SEC for a partial term that ends in 2014.

The Committee also approved the nominations of Ms. Kara M. Stein to replace Commissioner and former SEC Chairman Elisse B. Walter, and Dr. Michael S. Piwowar to replace Commissioner Troy A. Paredes.  The nominations now move to the full Senate where, according to a recent Bloomberg article, “they may be approved before lawmakers leave for the August Congressional recess.”  Congress is expected to begin its August recess on August 3.

Check back to MFA’s blog for more as this story develops.